
It’s October. That scary time of year. You want to know what I’m afraid of. I’m afraid of how many f***ing time I’m going to be subjected to watching Hocus “f***ing” Pocus. The movie is utter garbage and has somehow found its way on many people’s Halloween “watch list”. It has developed a cult following. My wife, sweet Bekah, is one of said followers. How can she, who generally has good taste in film, be enamored by this crime against cinema? She isn’t alone. It’s somehow managed to snag the #2 spot in theatres last weekend. This is 2020. The film came out 1993. WTF is going on!!
Hocus Pocus is an abomination. When sitting through the film I feel myself grow ill. Like, physically ill. My head hurts. My stomach turns. The thought of watching Hocus Pocus reminds me of that train ride in Durango, Colorado when I had the stomach flu. Miserable experience. I loathe Hocus Pocus. The plot is nauseatingly ordinary. How it was ever played and given a budget, who the f*** knows. The child protagonists are beyond boring. The acting isn’t worth s***. It’s soooooo terrible. I don’t know where they found these schmucks. Were they randomly picked from a mall? Did they even audition? If so, I hope the director was stoned out of Hollywood. (Just looked and he hasn’t done anything really since.) The witches are just about as obnoxious as they get. Sarah Jessica Parkers witch is nothing but walking cleavage (which upon thinking might be the one thing the film did right). I don’t know the name of the actress that plays the other sidekick witch, but all she does is sniff around like a f***ing dog. Is that acting? God she is annoying. I wish someone would have slapped those silly facial expressions right off her. Even Bette Midler, who is an otherwise good actress which I respect, has a poorly written character. Was she told to imitate a ferret? What in the bloody f*** is that about? If turning witches into moronic annoying a** clowns was the goal I suppose the film writers succeeded. Witches’ are supposed to insight fear. These just make you want to bang your head against a wall. The best acting comes from the f***ing cat.

I should have some sort of nostalgia for this movie since I was only 12 when it was released. I flat out hate it. I feel nothing but contempt for the film. I thought it was awful when I was a child. I think it’s beyond awful as an adult. Its success at the time and its admiration today baffles my brain. Hocus Pocus is not just a terrible Halloween movie, it’s just a bad f***ing movie in general. It ends up doing nothing well. It certainly not a horror film. Nothing about it is scary. That it gets lumped into that genre is a disgrace.
Wait! The movie is actually very terrifying. OH THE HORROR!!! Out of all the horror films that I watch this is the only one where I literally feel like I’m going to die while viewing it. Hell for me would be having to watch Hocus Pocus on repeat for all eternity. That is far more frightening than any cenobite from Hellraiser. And Jason, Freddy or Micheal Myers.
What is with the films focus on teenage virginity? S***!!! The boy character is dry humping a f***ing pillow at one point and calling it his crushes name. That’s a little concerning. What were you thinking, Disney!! And the witches desire children. I’m getting hints of pedophilia here. They are actively seeking underage virgins. Talk about creepy. At one point a bus driver basically says he can find them children but it might take a little while. Like, he has connections to child sex slaves? Is that the implication? Seems like it to me. What was going on in the writing room for this film?
I will be watching Hocus Pocus this year. I will probably be forced to watch it multiple viewings because of this very blog post. I’d rather have a boil on my a** than to have to watch the movie. An abscessed tooth sounds favorable. If it came down to Hocus Pocus or a kick in the balls, I’d choose the latter. Swarms of mosquitos sound more enjoyable. Feed me cottage cheese over Hocus Pocus. Having my “you know what” under the guillotine is less terrifying. Pumpkin spice is better. Heck, I’d take the Llama back in the office over Hocus Pocus.

My middle brother came to town to visit. He is not actually on vacation, he is still working remotely unlike the rest of us. He wanted to argue about the Electoral College and it was kind of fun. I don’t argue, I listen. I don’t think he does. The only person it pissed off was Bekah. I laughed. Good seeing him as always. I think July 4th was his last visit. At that point I was more concerned about travel, numbers were way high. I guess a little more lax at this point. I don’t know if that’s a good thing?
Hazel turned 5!!! It seems like only yesterday she was a puppy. I wish she would slow down. 5 is a big year. My boy Riley only made it to 10. I better have more years with Hazel. I love this girl. She is Bekah’s and my first child. For her birthday she was pampered. She had “real” food. Grilled chicken, raw egg and a side of peanut butter biscuit. She said thanks.


Oh yeah. I almost drank a live cockroach. That’s how my evening ended. Sitting outside enjoying the nice night. Take a sip of wine and find something moving in my mouth. Spit out into glass only to discover a living roach. It was traumatic.

Friday finally arrived. This week felt like it was so long. It just didn’t want to end. The days itself didn’t either. It’s dragged out. One bit of excitement occurred though: I was able to explore the tunnels below the campus. Underneath the campus are tunnels that stretch out connecting the buildings with cold and hot water, cold and hot air. I was given a flashlight and told to have fun. I’m not the claustrophobic type, but being alone in those tunnels somewhat got to me. I don’t know why. It was actually pretty fun though. And I did get to put the flashlight to use.



Jalapeño
Biscuits & chorizo gravy with poached eggs. A fine balance of flavors.

Sesame chicken.

Chicken, broccoli, cream of chicken, curry & cheese. It was tasty.

Since my brother was in town we had dinner together Tuesday and he wanted some Chinese from a place he grew up eating. I got the sesame chicken that I’m always mimicking. Egg roll was tasty and the plume sauce was heavenly.



Chimichurri chicken avocado salad. So I love chimichurri. One of my favorite meals to make. I’ve just always had a problem finding the right side dish to go along with it. This meal is what I’ve been missing. We both came to agreement that this was this best way to eat it. So good. Everything went well together. Big win. Love trying new recipes.

Chicken stroganoff w/ bow tie pasta.

Pizza. It was a great dinner with family but the pizza was undercooked. Because they gave mine to someone else and rushed getting a new one to me.



































































































































